Korean BBQ Inspired Chicken

828975fc-2c8a-4bfb-ab5f-9fa964553822

I have been awful about updating my blog! (I sincerely apologize for this) I would like to have more time to focus on my blog, but life gets kinda filled up. Cant’t complain though, because I am blessed with amazing people to visit, a job, a home, a garden, and many adventures which I have been collecting in my back pocket (plus a load of other things that life throws at everyone)! I have a bunch of ideas I have been meaning to post about, and a handful of recipes (which are delicious to say the least), so I am currently trying to play catch-up! Anyways enough excuses from me, I’m working on some experience posts that will comb over more things about me and my hectic life, so Food?

YES this recipe is my favorite way to eat chicken. This may sound like an over exaggeration, because chicken is so versatile, BUT IT IS THE BEST. I came up with this recipe as an attempt to recreate the Korean BBQ chicken at one of my favorite restaurants in Ann Arbor, Tomukun. Reasons why I love this place are endless: the food is always bountiful, flavorful, and sharing oriented. On top of this the environment is modern but friendly, and you get to interact with the food by cooking it on a grill inside the table, like every other Korean BBQ place, but still the marinades are so fantastic. So as you can imagine I crave their food all the time, and always want to go there when I am in Ann Arbor. I don’t always get to journey over to Ann Arbor when a craving hits, so I have recreated their chicken to make something that I would say is pretty darn close to what they do. It tastes almost identical to those I have made it for, and also I endorse it (My awkward wording just makes me laugh, I try to write how I talk, I hope it doesn’t bug anyone too much!)

TOOLS:

  • A Grill (of some type you could even use a stove top cast iron grill, whatever you can get your hands on)
  • A large Ziploc bag
  • 4 cup liquid measuring cup (a 2 cup one will also work)
  • Cutting board
  • Good Knife
  • Tongs

INGREDIENTS:

  • Boneless Chicken Thighs (tastes the best with this cut of meat)
  • 3 to 4 medium-sized garlic cloves
  • 1 and a half teaspoons ginger (powdered, you could use 1/4 knob of fresh peeled and sliced ginger)
  • 1 teaspoon dry chili flakes
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 splash of rice wine vinegar (about 1/2 a tablespoon)
  • 2 to 3 drops of sesame oil
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup citrus juice fresh is better (I use orange or and orange lime mix)
  •  2 to 3 green onions roughly chopped
  • 1 stick of lemongrass (totally optional have made it without this and it tastes amazing still!)

RECIPE:

  1. First make the marinade. I’m gonna tell you how to do this all in one step. In the liquid measuring cup you should pour out oil, soy sauce, and fresh citrus juice (that way you can just measure it in your container), then add in the rice wine vinegar, sesame oil, brown sugar. After this smash the garlic cloves on the cutting board using your knife, to crush the cloves and remove the peals, then place this in the measuring cup along with the chili flakes, ginger, and green onions (and possibly the lemongrass crushed).    OKAY so that wasn’t to bad!
  2. Now take the chicken thighs and trim about 85% of the fat off, don’t leave any big chunks of fat on, this will enhance the flavor of the chicken and melt into it once its grilling. If your chicken thighs are thick, butterfly cut them meaning: cut into two pieces width wise (to cut the thickness down). Then WASH YOUR HANDS!!! After roll down the Ziploc bag so that you can avoid getting raw chicken on the outside of the bag. Then use your clean hands to place all the chicken thighs into the bag. Dispose of the knife, and cutting board, then Wash Your Hands (Again I know its tedious but food safety is important!). Following this pour in the marinade and then remove all the excess air from the Ziploc before sealing it up. Then massage the chicken around to get it acquainted with the marinade. Let It sit for about an hour at least preferably no more than 24 hours due to the acidic components of the marinade which will start to breakdown the meat and indirectly cook it.
  3. Almost to Korean BBQ, so make sure your grilling surface is clean to start with and is on medium high heat. You should brush the grill with oil so there is no sticking sometimes I will just put oil on a paper towel and then use my grilling tongs to coat the grill with oil. Then lay the chicken on the grill giving space between each piece. The chicken should get very charred during its cooking time, the more grill marks the deeper the flavor will be. Also if the chicken is sticking to the grill while its cooking it’s because it isn’t ready to be flipped, and it will easily lift off when it is ready. You should use a meat thermometer before you remove the chicken off of the grill, the internal temp should read 165 degrees F.
  4. Then you are done you can serve it with sticky rice, salad, or grilled veggies! It is definitely a worthwhile effortless chicken dish!

I apologize for not having more pictures than this! It is hard to capture everything on my phone!

 

Leave a Reply

