Tiramisu Cannolis!!!

a8433f39-819a-4db2-9222-b1cf5527f3e1

I’m not Italian by any means so this might not be an authentic recipe, but it doesn’t mean it can’t still taste amazing. To be honest these are two of my favorite things put into one. Which truly does kill two birds with one stone, I love not having to make a choice between two desserts, it is always so much better to have both. So I purchased some cannoli shells, yes I do make semi-homemade recipes, I think it is important to not always fuss with things. Being completely real, we needed desserts for when guests came to visit for coffee, and instead of just buying pre-made cannolis, I bought the shells so I could make the filling but avoid all the shaping and frying. We all need easy desserts one time or another, there is no shame in that. Doing part on your own is never something to be ashamed of, everyone is so busy with their lives, jobs, and life in general!! Especially with summer and wanting to enjoy beautiful weather (when it is beautiful at least).

So I was going to just made plain cannolis, but for me plain anything is boring. I like to mix it up and as I was scrolling through recipes on pinterest, which I do so often, as people who follow me on pinterest know!!! I saw a picture of tiramisu, and thought what if I flavored my filling like that. Let me just say YUMMMM! Coffee and chocolate filling, is definitely a score in my book, yes I left out the booze (I didn’t want the filling to be runny, but You could totally brush the cannoli shells with some if you want!). Cream filled deserts also feel so fancy and seem like they took hours when I could easily say this took like 20 minutes at most!

TOOLS:

  • Mixing bowls
  • Whisk, hand mixer, or standing mixer
  • Piping bag
  • Tall water-glass
  • Rubber spatula
  • Fine mesh strainer

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups ricotta cheese (I used whole milk ricotta)
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup powder sugar (roughly you should sweeten to taste)
  • 1 and 1/2 tablespoons strong powder coffee (I use nestle cafe because it’s a Greek persons go to for frappes)
  • 1 tablespoon coco powder (I use dark but use what you like and have on hand)
  • Store bough cannoli shells
  • Toppings: chocolate chips, mini chocolate chips, lady finger crumbles, totted almonds etc.

RECIPE:

  1. In a bowl whip your heavy cream with your coffee powder and brown sugar, Let me say I do know most people don’t use sugar when making whipped cream, but I always do, and brown sugar gives more flavor, and it still always comes out great. You can use powder sugar if you’d like to in this case. So whip until stiff peaks, it will take time and effort by hand but all mixing methods will get you there eventually! “Stiff peaks” means that if you lift the whisk out and turn it so the cream is facing the ceiling the peak does not fall over it holds its shape. You want to check where the whip cream is at frequently because if you over-whip the cream it will not look or taste delicious.
  2. In another bowl place all the ricotta and begin to whisk it on medium high-speed this is to make it smoother and creamy so that there are no lumps, I add the coco powder to this and then as much powder sugar as you like.
  3. When the ricotta is smooth fold in the coffee whip cream, and fold in thoroughly to fully incorporate but be gentle so the volume isn’t lost.5d19cfb7-9f83-4263-a488-1c311cdeec5d
  4. Place the piping bag into a cup and roll the top of the bag over the rim of the glass so that the bag has an open cavity for you to fill it with the mixture. Fill the bag so that it is only about 3/4 full, you need space to twist the top. Make a medium-sized hole in the tip of the piping bag to allow easy filling of the cannoli shells.
  5. Insert the piping bag into the middle of the cannoli at one end and then begin to pipe, I did this in a circling hand motion, and move steadily with even pressure on the bag as you back out to the edge of the cannoli with the piping bag. Do the same thing on the other end of the cannoli and repeat this for all of them! Should make about 8 Large ones6415cc10-27bb-4610-a154-cda342a7368f
  6. NOTE: I would recommend filling closer to when they will be served so that the shells do not get soggy. You can dip the ends in mini chocolate chips, cut up lady fingers, toasted almonds, really anything your heart desires!

15dc4287-7ac0-4885-9e1d-86d358bd528b

This is a super quick and effortless desert that doesn’t take much skill to make it look and taste amazing! So if you are a newbie to deserts this is a perfect place for you to start!

Leave a Reply

